For 50 years the Natural History Museum in London has run the Wildlife Photographer of the Year competition – harnessing the power of photography to inspire greater understanding of the natural world, challenge perceptions and encourage change to preserve the beauty and diversity of the Earth.

They are looking for photos that represent the natural world as faithfully as possible, free from excessive digital manipulation and with total regard for the welfare of the animals and their environment.

This year’s categories include

  • Earth’s Environment: Underwater
  • Earth’s Diversity: Reptiles, Amphibians and Fishes
  • Earth’s Diversity: Mammals
  • Earth’s Diversity: Invertebrates
  • TIMElapse Special Award

The TIMElapse category looks for unexpected insights or surprising views of the natural world. Photographers can submit up to three multi-image sequences–lasting between 45 and 90 seconds–to tell a story, reveal unique behaviour, uncover hidden processes or portray a dramatic event that may otherwise be overlooked.

Prizes include £10000 for the Wildlife Photographer of the Year and £1,250 for each category winner.

Amongst the judges is Dr Alexander Mustard who is a regular columnist and features writer for many publications in the marine, wildlife, diving and photographic media. In 2013, he was named European Wildlife Photographer of the Year, the first time an underwater photograph had ever won this award.

For more details, or to register, visit the The Natural History Museum site.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here